# "YEAR OF INTENSIFIED EFFORT AND GREATER SELF-RELIANCE"

# PUBLIC SERVICE MINISTRY

### <u>CIRCULAR</u> <u>MEMORANDUM.</u>

**SUBJECT:** 

#### **REFERENCE NO. PS: 20/24**

FROM:Permanent Secretary, Public Service Ministry

TO: All Permanent Secretaries, Heads of Departments not under Ministerial Control

Payment of Entertainment and Duty Allowances to Permanent Secretaries and Heads of Departments.

DATE: 1990-03-04

Cabinet has approved the payment with effect from 1<sup>st</sup> January, 1990, of Entertainment and Duty allowance to Permanent Secretaries and certain heads of Departments as set out below: -

- (a) Entertainment Allowance (non-pensionable and non-taxable) at the rate of \$500.00 per month to Permanent Secretaries and those Heads of Departments who are now paid at the rate of \$200.00 per month;
- (b) Duty Allowance (pensionable and non-taxable)
  - (i) at the rate of \$500.00 per month to all senior Permanent Secretaries; and
  - (ii) at the rate of \$300.00 per month to all junior Permanent Secretaries and Deputy Permanent Secretaries.

2. The positions which attract payment of the entertainment allowance referred to at (a) above are shown at Appendix I hereto. The positions of senior and junior Permanent Secretary which attract the different rates of duty allowance are shown at Appendix II hereto.

3. With regard to the duty allowance mentioned at (b) above, where a senior Permanent Secretary may have been posted against a position of junior Permanent Secretary/Deputy Permanent Secretary, he/she should be paid the duty allowance applicable to a senior Permanent Secretary on a personal basis. In this regard, letters are being sent to these officers on an individual basis.

4. Please effect payment of the above allowances at the new rates earliest from funds under your control.

R. Sivanand for Permanent Secretary Public Service Ministry

## SCHEDULE OF PERMANENT SECRETARIES, DUPUTY PERMANENT SECRETARIES AND HEADS OF DEPARTMENTS TO WHOM THE ENTERTAINMENT ALLOWANCE OF \$500.00 PER MONTH IS PAYABLE

Permanent Secretary, Public Service Ministry Permanent Secretary, Office of the President Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Health Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Communications and works Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Trade an Tourism Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Labour Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Regional Development Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Culture and Social Development Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Legal Affairs Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Public Utilities Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Housing Deputy Permanent Secretary, Public Service Ministry Deputy Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education Deputy Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture Deputy Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Communications and Works Chief Administrative Officer, Office of the President Director-General, Ministry of Foreign Affairs Secretary, Public Service Commission Secretary, Teaching Service Commission Chief Labour Officer **Chief Statistician** Chief Co-operatives Development Officer Accountant General Chief Hudraulics Officer Chief Crops and Livestock officer Chief Executive Officer. Plant Maintenance and Hire Division

APPENDIX II

## SCHEDULE OF SENIOR PERMANENT SECRETARIES TO WHOM THE DUTY ALLOWANCE OF \$500.00 PER MONTH IS PAYABLE

Permanent Secretary, Public Service Ministry Permanent Secretary, office of the Prime Minister Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Health Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Communication and Works Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Trade and Tourism Director-General, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

## <u>SCHEDULE OF JUNIOR PERMAMENT SECRETARIES AND DEPUTY PERMANENT SECRETARIES</u> <u>TO WHOM THE DUTY ALLOWANCE OF \$300.00 PER MONTH IS PAYABLE</u>

Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Labour Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Regional Development Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Culture and Social Development Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Legal Affairs Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Public Utilities Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Housing Chief Administrative officer, office of the President Deputy Permanent Secretary, Public Service Ministry Deputy Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education Deputy Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture Deputy Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture Deputy Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Communications and Works Secretary, Teaching Service Commission Chief Co-operatives Development Officer